• Accessibility
Menu Close

1825: Mendelssohn's Octet


We end our milestone season with a work rightly considered a true miracle: Mendelssohn’s Octet. Written by the composer when he was only 16 years old, it is as masterful in every way as the valedictory works of any composer. Words cannot describe the excitement this piece generates in the concert hall; one simply has to experience it. Mendelssohn’s Octet has inspired countless works, two of which are on this program: Shostakovich’s compact and frenetic octet of 1925, and Enescu’s towering octet of 1900.

Enescu Octet in C major for Strings, Op. 7 (1900)
Shostakovich Prelude and Scherzo for String Octet, Op. 11 (1924-25)
Mendelssohn Octet in E-flat major for Strings, Op. 20 (1825)

Alice Tully Hall
  • 1941 Broadway
  • Manhattan, NY 10023