• Accessibility
Menu Close

1891: Brahm's Clarinet Quintet


Before his death in 1897, Johannes Brahms memorialized his cherished, fast-disappearing Old World in works of breathtaking tenderness and profundity. Moved by the serene purity of the clarinet, he created a quintet for the ages, a heart-rending epitaph for himself and the 19th century combined. Schubert’s similar Fantasie, composed in the autumn of his life, and Schumann’s emotional Dichterliebe build a nostalgic musical path to Brahms’s late masterpiece.

Schubert Fantasie in F minor for Piano, Four Hands, D. 940, Op. 103 (1828)
Schumann Dichterliebe for Voice and Piano, Op. 48 (1840)
Brahms Quintet in B minor for Clarinet, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 115 (1891)

Alice Tully Hall
  • 1941 Broadway
  • Manhattan, NY 10023