• Accessibility
Menu Close

1893: Debussy's String Quartet


Claude Debussy’s innovations made modern music possible. His only string quartet, the first truly Impressionist-style chamber music, opened a new era for the string quartet. Surrounding Debussy’s iconic work are Czech novelties both traditional and modernist, plus a milestone work of the German school, Brahms’s mighty A major Piano Quartet.

Suk Elegie for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 23 (1902)
Janáček Sonata for Violin and Piano (1914-15)
Debussy Quartet in G minor for Strings, Op. 10 (1893)
Brahms Quartet No. 2 in A major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 26 (1861)

Alice Tully Hall
  • 1941 Broadway
  • Manhattan, NY 10023