• Accessibility
Menu Close

1893: Dvořák's American Quintet


A magical evocation of a Midwest farmland sunrise opens Dvořák’s “American” quintet, a work inspired by the plains of Spillville, Iowa, and the music of Native and African-Americans. This deeply moving work opened a vast musical horizon in the New World, pointing American composers in search of a voice to their own native musical heritage. Harry Burleigh, an African-American music student at New York’s National Conservatory, sang spirituals for Dvořák. The iconic Aaron Copland and Leonard Bernstein both drew on Dvořák’s game-changing vision to create their own American masterworks.

Celebrate with the musicians at a post-concert reception featuring Clos Du Val wine, generously sponsored by Francis Goelet and the Goelet Family.

Burleigh Southland Sketches for Violin and Piano (1916)
Dvořák Quintet in E-flat major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 97, "American" (1893)
Bernstein Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (1941-42)
Copland Appalachian Spring Suite for Ensemble (1944)

Alice Tully Hall
  • 1941 Broadway
  • Manhattan, NY 10023