Come explore the world of the Hudson Headwaters beginning almost two hundred years ago. the presentation is based on the 1978 Historic American Engineering Record, "Adirondack Iron and Steel Company: "New Furnace", 1849-1854", HAER NY-123, written by historian Bruce Seely. It will also contain updated information from more recent archeological studies conducted by New York State Museum Archeologist Dave Staley. The Hamlet of Adirondac, spelled correctly without the final "k", once had its own Post Office and bank. Besides a few rusting artifacts, the MacNaughton Cottage, the 1854 Furnace and the cemetery are all that remain of the original 19th Century village. Recent descriptive signage by artist Robert McNamara, installed by the Open Space Institute, provide an excellent glimpse into what used to be.