• Accessibility
Menu Close

Open House at the Proctor Memorial Building in Bagg Square

Details

Oneida County History Center will host an open house at the Proctor Memorial Building. This historical landmark, located in downtown Utica at Bagg Commemorative Park, will be open for tours on June 15, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Visitors can explore the rich history of the building that was once the site of many important events in the city. The Proctor Memorial Building was built by Maria Proctor in 1933 in memory of her husband Thomas Redfield Proctor. It sits on the site of Bagg's Hotel, which was operated by Mr. Proctor. It was given to the City of Utica by Mrs. Proctor and used as a military police headquarters, a clinic, the Visitors and Convention Bureau headquarters, and even as a small museum run by the Daughters of the American Revolution. Today, it is a testament to the city's history and an important part of Utica's cultural heritage. During the tour, visitors will learn about the building's history and the vital role of Bagg Square in the city's past. The open house is suitable for all ages and is a great way to learn about this seldom-seen piece of Utica's history. Before or after your visit, stop by the History Center table at the Oneida County Public Market.

Map