Victor, NY-- On Saturday, August 1, Ganondagan State Historic Site will present "The Critters of Great Brook," part of the Savor the Summer Outdoor Recreation Series. Nadia Harvieux and Sharon Radak, Educators from the Canandaigua Lake Watershed Council, will lead an interactive family-oriented adventure hike at Ganondagan State Historic Site to explore Ganondagan's Great Brook and demonstrate how to test the health of watersheds by collecting samples of the creatures living in the water. "This hands-on event that will be fun for the whole family," shares Jeanette Miller, the Executive Director for Ganondagan State Historic Site. "We'll have stream sampling nets and hike out to Great Brook on Ganondagan's Trails, where we'll collect and identify the creatures living in the water. Nadia and Sharon will show participants how to determine the health of a stream through the creatures we catch." "Critters of Great Brook" will start at 9:45 a.m., leaving from the Visitors Center at Ganondagan State Historic Site, located at 1488 State Rte. 444, Victor, NY. Participants should allow about 2 hours for the hike, bring a bottle of water and all are required to wear boots or water shoes. Registration is required for this program and is limited to the first 20 people who register. Please call 585-742-1690 or email firstname.lastname@example.org by July 31, 2009 to register. Non-members pay the Ganondagan State Historic Site fee of $3 for adults and $2 for children. It is free to Friends of Ganondagan Members, who show their membership card. For more information, visit http://www.ganondagan.org/ or call 585.742-1690.
* * * *Ganondagan State Historic Site is the former location of the largest Seneca Village in New York State until 1687. It is the only the only U.S. national landmark east of the Mississippi River and the sole New York State Historic Site dedicated to Native American History and Culture. It was also designated as a national treasure during the "Save America's Treasures" presidential tour. Today, visitors can tour an authentic replica of a 17th Century bark longhouse and hunting lodge, take self-guided tours over 500 acres that were once part of this Town of Peace belonging to the Senecas. The Senecas were "the Keepers of the Western Door" and part of the Iroquois Confederacy or Haudenosaunee, as they referred to themselves.