Fonda (Sept. 29) -

The Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the nominees for the Fourth Annual Barbara V. Spraker Tourism Award.  The award will be presented Monday, October 27 at Crystal Ristorante, 72 Lyon Street, Amsterdam.

The 2008 nominees are:

  • Andy Heck and Alpin Haus
  • Brenda Hill, Palatine Valley Dairy
  • Brian Spagnola, Amsterdam Mohawks
  • Dawn Lamphere, Margaret Reaney Memorial Library
  • Holding Down the Fort, Fort Plain Museum
  • Light up the Sky with the Marching Rams
  • Lock 7-12 Canalfest
  • Sundae on the Farm
  • Walter Elwood Museum

“The community submits the nominees then a selection committee chooses the winner, the nominees are always fantastic choices,” states Gina DaBiere-Gibbs, Montgomery County Tourism Director.  “The award puts the spotlight on the tourism industry’s hard work throughout the county which is worth celebrating.  A tourism volunteer award is also given each year. The 2007 award recipient was Arkell Museum and Canajoharie Library and the volunteer award was received by the GFWC Century Club of Amsterdam for the Festival of Trees,” added DaBiere-Gibbs.

“I would also like to thank you to CDPHP this year’s award sponsor,” adds DaBiere-Gibbs.  “The winner will be announced at the dinner and all nominees will be recognized.  The public is invited to attend.”

The tourism award dinner will begin with a cocktail hour at 5:30pm with dinner at 6:30pm; tickets are $30 per person.  Dinner choices are chicken parmesan with spaghetti, eggplant parmesan with spaghetti, or roast beef with vegetables and potato.  Dinner includes salad, coffee and dessert.  Those interested in attending should RSVP to Kathi Bassett at 853-1800 ext. 10 by October 22.