Established in 1935 and opened in 1976, Fort Stanwix National Monument commemorates the original fort which protected the Oneida Carry as European nations fought for control of this portage, the homelands of the Six Nations Confederacy, and the rich resources of North America. One of 400+ National Park Service sites, Fort Stanwix National Monument offers a full-scale reconstruction of the original fort built in 1758 by the British during the French and Indian War and occupied by Americans during the Revolutionary War. In 1777 it became known as "the fort the never surrendered."
The park offers an extensive exhibit area in the Marinus Willett Center. Here one can explore centuries of history through the many interpretive exhibits and cases of artifacts unearthed on site. The park also manages both the Oriskany Battlefield State Historic Site and the Steuben Memorial State Historic Site, all three locations inexorably connected from the time of the American Revolution. A Path Through History attraction.