An official Path Through History Site! The story begins in 1654 when Thomas Pell signed a treaty with the Lenape Native American people for about 50,000 acres in what is now the Bronx and Lower Westchester. The estate was reduced to 220 acres after the Revolutionary War. In 1836, Robert Bartow purchased the property and built the present Greek Revival style mansion. The Bartow family lived there until the property was sold to New York City in 1888. This Bronx landmark was used by Mayor LaGuardia as his summer office more than nine decades after it was built. Today, it’s a place to experience 19th-century country life in modern New York City. Using its elegant buildings, grounds, and collections, the museum, which opened in 1946, interprets the people who lived and worked on the estate. The architecture is breathtaking, with a freestanding spiral staircase at the entrance, floor-to-ceiling windows on the second floor and magnificent, flora-filled grounds outside. Tours and special events immerse guests of all ages in the history of the site and the borough.